Sherlock Series 2: Irene Adler and the Lace Dress

Seen very early in the A Scandal Belgravia, the viewer only catches a glimpse of the very sophisticated and gorgeous lingerie dress. The short peak we get at Irene Adler allows the viewer an early judgment on the character. The costume helps the discerning viewer start to understand who Irene Adler is.

The dress comes from Agent Provocateur Soiree spring 2010 collection, a line that is very high quality with interesting embellishments. The dress has a bias cut in the front and back that connects to a hip high slit, long sleeve, and a cowl type neckline. The lace dress never went into production sadly but it can be seen here.

Store opening in La Rinascente, Milan

It is first down the runway at the Soho Grand Hotel

Commercial for the Spring 2010 collection, The dress appears about 53 seconds in. NSFW

Here is a similar lace dress from Agent Provocateur, similar in design with a different neckline, and the details are a little more clear.

Check out my other Sherlock costume posts:

Sherlock: John Watson’s Costume: Part 1

Sherlock: The Suits: Part 2

Sherlock Series 2: Irene Adler 

Sherlock: Sarah Sawyer

Sherlock Series 2: A Scandal in Belgravia Costume Overview

Sherlock Series 2: The Hounds of Baskerville Costume Discussion

10 comments
  1. Eric J. said:

    Thanks for tracking this down! Alas, not destined to become a Valentine’s day present.

  2. Hi Kristin, I just wanted to voice my appreciation for your Sherlock posts I’m really enjoying them. You have a very good eye for costume analysis 🙂

    • Aw! Thank you so much! That is so kind of you to say! I have 2 more Sherlock post in the works but school has been keeping me busy. I hope you will continue to enjoy my post! Thank you!!

      • Always good to hear! I just wanted to thank you for introducing me to Clothes on Film as well through your sidebar – fabulous site, I’ve been flicking through it for the past hour.

      • I’m so happy you checked out Clothes on Flim! Possibly my favorite website. It is wonderful, isn’t it?

  3. Love the fashion of this program! Also wanted to share the news that I just bought Irene’s Agent Provocateur black lace dress, can’t believe my luck!

      • I happen to be a fan of AP anyway and found it on ebay while hunting! I was so shocked to find it.

Leave a Reply

